Faculty

Barak Blum
Barak Blum, PhD
Assistant Professor
 
bblum4@wisc.edu
Regulation of terminal differentiation and functional maturation of stem and progenitor cells, regenerative biology of the endocrine pancreas, diabetes
Grace Boekhoff-Falk
Grace Boekhoff-Falk, PhD
Associate Professor
 
boekhofffalk@wisc.edu
Development and evolution of neural systems
Emery Bresnick
Emery H. Bresnick , PhD
Professor
Director, UW-Madison Blood Research Program
ehbresni@wisc.edu
Stem Cell Biology, Epigenetics, Molecular Hematology, and Vascular Biology: From Fundamental Mechanisms to Translational Medicine
Ricki J. Colman , PhD
Assistant Professor
 
rcolman@primatewisc.edu
Energy regulation and the impact of caloric restriction on aging in nonhuman primates.
Karen Downs
Karen M. Downs , PhD
Professor
 
kdowns@wisc.edu
Development of the fetal-placental connection
John F. Fallon
John F. Fallon, PhD
Harland Winfield Mossman Emeritus Professor
 
jffallon@wisc.edu
Genetic and molecular control of limb pattern formation and evolution
Ying Ge
Ying Ge, PhD
Associate Professor
 
ge2@wisc.edu
Cardiovascular Systems Biology through High-resolution Mass Spectrometry-based Comparative Proteomics and Metabolomics
Daniel S. Greenspan
Daniel S. Greenspan, PhD
Professor
 
dsgreens@wisc.edu
Extracellular modulators of cellular behaviors in development, homeostasis, and disease
Anne E. Griep
Anne E. Griep, PhD
Professor
 
aegriep@wisc.edu
Molecular and genetic regulation of mouse development, in particular ocular development and disease
Colin R. Jefcoate
Colin R. Jefcoate, PhD
Professor
 
jefcoate@wisc.edu
Physiological Mechanisms Associated with P450 Cytochromes
Tim Kamp
Timothy Kamp, MD, PhD
Professor
Medicine (Joint Appt.)
Co-director, Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Center
 
tjk@medicine.wisc.edu
Cardiac, ischemic heart disease, heart failure, arrhythmias. Cardiogenesis from embryonic stem cells.
Patricia J. Keely
Patricia J. Keely, PhD
Former Chair and Jan and Kathryn Ver Hagen Professor of Translational Research
 
pjkeely@wisc.edu
Integrin and small GTPase signaling events in differentiation and transformation
Joseph Kemnitz
Joseph Kemnitz, PhD
Professor, Department Chair
 
kemnitz@primate.wisc.edu
Regulation of energy balance and the processes of aging
Judith Kimble
Judith Kimble, PhD
Vilas Professor
CALS/Biochemistry (Affiliate Appt.)
 
jekimble@wisc.edu
Molecular regulation of animal development
Michelle Kimple
Michelle Kimple, PhD
Assistant Professor
Medicine (Affiliate Appt.)
mkimple@medicine.wisc.edu
Pharmacologically and Nutritionally Targeting the Diabetic Adult Beta-cell to Improve Function and Mass
Pamela Kreeger
Pamela Kreeger, PhD
Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering (Joint Appt.)
 
kreeger@wisc.edu
Systems biology, creation of in vitro models of disease, cellular engineering, ovarian cancer
Youngsook Lee
Youngsook Lee, PhD
Associate Professor
 
youngsooklee@wisc.edu
Transcriptional control of normal cardiovascular development and function
Bo Liu
Bo Liu, PhD
Associate Professor
Surgery (Affiliate Appt.)
liub@surgery.wisc.edu
Biology of blood vessels: cellular and molecular pathologies of restenosis and abdominal aortic aneurysm.
Gary E. Lyons
Gary E. Lyons, PhD
Professor
 
gelyons@wisc.edu

Characterization of novel genes in the mouse cardiovascular system using gene trapping in embryonic stem cells

Darcie L. Moore, PhD
Assistant Professor
Neuroscience (Affiliate Appt.)
darcie.moore@wisc.edu
Neural stem cells and aging
Richard L. Moss
Richard L. Moss, PhD
Professor and Senior Associate Dean for Basic Research, Biotechnology and Graduate Studies, School of Medicine and Public Health
rlmoss@wisc.edu
Heart and skeletal muscle physiology
Phillip Newmark
Phillip Newmark, PhD
Professor
Morgridge Institute and Zoology Dept. (Affiliate Appt.)
 
pnewmark@wisc.edu
Differentiation of the regenerative stem cells; regulation of germ cell development and differentiation; using planarians as models for understanding parasitic flatworms
Nader Sheibani, PhD
Professor
Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences(Affiliate Appt.)
 
nsheibanikar@wisc.edu
Molecular and cellular regulation of angiogenesis, cell biology of vascular cell adhesion molecules, and diabetic retinopathy. The role of cell-cell and cell-matrix interactions in vascular development and neovascularization
Igor Slukvin
Igor Slukvin, MD, PhD
Professor
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine(Affiliate Appt.)
 
islukvin@wisc.edu
Hematopoietic development from pluripotent stem cells; de novo generation of hematopoietic stem cells, modeling leukemia stem cells using reprogramming technologies.
Rupa Sridharan
Rupa Sridharan, PhD
Assistant Professor
rsridharan@discovery.wisc.edu
Epigenetics of cell fate change
James Thompson
James A. Thomson, PhD, VMD
Professor and Director, Regenerative Biology, Morgridge Inst. for Research
jthomson@morgridgeinstitute.org
Human and non-human primate embryonic stem cells
Beth Weaver
Beth Weaver, PhD
Associate Professor
 
baweaver@wisc.edu
Regulation of chromosome segregation during mitosis